“Abandonment” is the ecommerce term used when a visitor leaves a webpage before completing a desired action. This includes “shopping cart abandonment,” which is when a visitor adds an item to their online shopping cart but exits without completing the purchase.

According to statistics, around 75% of online shopping customers abandon their carts before making a purchase, and 70% of those customers do not provide an email address.

This means that shop owners can't send an email to remind shoppers of the items in their abandoned cart.

Octane AI came up with a perfect solution – by using Facebook Messenger rather than email to send abandoned cart notifications, ecommerce store owners have seen reach higher than 90% and open rates beyond 80%.

Can I use this for my online store?

We currently offer integration with Shopify stores. If you’re a Shopify store owner, you can definitely start using it right now!

Request a demo »

If you’re not a Shopify customer, please stay tuned! We are adding integration for other ecommerce platforms soon.

How does it work?

After you Install the Octane AI application and connect it to Facebook, abandoned cart messages will be turned on automatically.

When everything is set, “Send to Messenger” will be checked below the "Add to Cart" button on all product pages on your store.

Sixty minutes after a customer abandons their cart, they will receive the abandoned cart message in Messenger.

If the customer chooses "Remind me tomorrow,” we’ll send the second reminder 24 hours later – otherwise, they will not receive the second reminder message.

When the customer clicks “Checkout,” they will be redirected to the store checkout page.

After the purchase is complete, we continue the conversation in Messenger by sending the receipt and shipping notifications to the customer.

Learn more about how to manage Receipt and Shipping Notifications.

How do I customize abandoned cart messages?

In order to customize Abandoned carts message you need to follow these few easy steps:

  1. Navigate to the abandoned carts feature under Dashboard - Revenue.

2. Click on the Edit icon for reminder you wish to edit

3. In order to select when users should receive their Abandoned carts reminder select one of the options from the dropdown.

*Note: timing can be edited only for the first reminder, the second reminder always go by default after 24 hours, if the user clicks on Remind me option.

4. In order to change Abandoned cart message, click on "Customize the message option" and edit message bellow

Do these customers follow my bot?

When they first get an abandoned cart message, Facebook preserves their privacy until they engage with the bot. So once they engage with the abandoned cart message or anything else in the bot, that's when they become a follower.

What happens after they purchase?

They will get a receipt and shipping notification if you have them turned on. Learn how to set them up.

If you have any questions please contact us at [email protected]

Did this answer your question?